T-minus 13 hours…

It’s 6 AM, and I can’t sleep. I guess that I’m just excited for what the near future is going to hold! I thought that this would be the perfect time to begin my blog post…

About Me

My name is Kadisha (Kady) Philips, I’m 20 years old, I’m obsessed with TV/film and I am of West Indian descent (Barbadian). I LOVE to travel. In the past 9 months, I’ve used up more than 1/2 of the pages in my passport book which is dually exciting and scary. In October I travelled to Berlin, Germany and swore that I’d never go any farther east than Germany, but here I am… on my way to India! 

Why Bollywood?

I see taking my passion for filmmaking into the world of Bollywood as being the learning experience of a lifetime. As a filmmaker, I’ve always wanted to travel with my skillset and use it to enhance and entertain society. This is part of what’s happening in this program, as we will work on documentary film projects for NGOs. I can honestly say that I have always had a passion for NGOs, filmmaking and travel. These three things meeting each other all at once could only make for an incredible learning opportunity for me. 

Also, I’ve always been open to exploring and understanding other cultures. I don’t really see much cultural exploration in my career post-graduation, being that I want to work in entertainment/television marketing and promotions. So, the real question is– why wouldn’t I take the chance of a lifetime to go to India and study film in Bollywood for three weeks? 

Concerns

My biggest concern has been my hair. This may seem to be a bit superficial, but in reality, I’m a black girl, with black girl hair, that doesn’t always do what I want it to do and needs special care to stay healthy. As my mother always says “your hair is your beauty” and as a black girl with natural hair, my hair needs extra love and consideration to grow and remain healthy and beautiful. I can’t wash my hair every day because it’ll destroy it, so I’ve decided to put it in braids called “Senagalese Twists.” I’m really excited to see how they hold up! 

Expectations

Deep down inside I’m a Type A diva, which means that everything has to be in order and on time (my time), or I’ll be a very unhappy person. So, I’m excited to have India rip away some of my need for plans and structure and everything that I feel that I need, but really don’t. I really just want these three weeks to change my life! 

Leave a Reply

