I Made It! To India, and to this blog!!

We have been in India now for three days, and every minute presents a new adventure and story…beginning with my flight here. I woke up at 7:30 on Friday morning anxious, but excited about my impending journey to Mumbai, India – the City of Dreams. I thought to myself “It’s okay to be a little nervous, it’s a big trip but everything will be fine and run smoothly.” However, it seemed the universe had a different plan.

The day before my departure packing went surprisingly well – seeing as I was leaving for three weeks to study in India, and had only begun packing at 10 o’clock the night before. Unfortunately, the ease that came with packing for my trip lured me into a cruel false sense of security about my upcoming travels.

The morning started off as well as one could hope. My younger sister and my mom drove me to the airport in Buffalo, where I was scheduled to catch a 10:30 am flight to Newark to meet up with the rest of my group for our 8:30 pm flight to India. My sister walked me as far as she could to security, and we shared one final laugh as she sent snapchat videos to her friends, while I walked timidly to the security checkpoint. I made it through security, and to my gate with plenty of time to spare. Then the one thing I dreaded most became my reality; my flight to Newark was delayed. I had a momentary freak out, but was assured by the ticket clerks that I would make my connection in Newark. Just as quickly as I was told my flight to Newark might even take off earlier than intended I was informed my flight had been cancelled!! I couldn’t believe it. I called my mom crying, and was once again totally freaking out. After about thirty minutes of trying to get on another flight with no avail my mom picked me up, and we started to make the six hour drive from Buffalo to Newark in hopes that we might get there in time for me to make my flight to India.

About an hour into the drive we discovered there was a flight leaving from Syracuse, and flying into Newark. We decided that trying to make this flight was my best option. I got to the airport with plenty of time to make my new flight…only to learn that it had been delayed until 5 o’clock. Needless to say, I had basically lost all hope at this point. I have to thank my wonderful mother here because she encouraged me the entire time If it weren’t for her I don’t know if I would have actually gone to India. With all of the delays and cancellations I was convinced it was an omen or some sort of sign telling me not to go.

As my mom and I waited three hours for my new delayed flight my nerves began to calm. She was so positive, and uplifting I was beginning to feel at ease again. Then…my flight was delayed again!! This time I was told it would take off at 6 o’clock. Luckily for my mom who had spent the day trying to calm me down I was used to the news, and I kinda just left it up to fate.

Finally, at 5:30 they began boarding my flight to Newark! I kissed my mom goodbye, and began my trip to India…only to make it to Newark to find that my flight to India had been delayed.

All obstacles aside, I am here and I loving everything that India has to offer!

 

10264852_10203169426689345_2723345608651292410_n

Leave a Reply

