“Yeah, but how spicy is it?”

It’s not that I didn’t want to be adventurous with my culinary activities, but a crippling gastritis had left me unable to enjoy some, if not most, Indian delicacies. We were visiting an extremely local vegetarian restaurant, there wasn’t a tourist in sight, and while we were definitely enjoying the true Mumbai feeling of the restaurant, the names of the food on the menu left us scratching our heads: “What is this? Is it good? Is it too spicy?” This is were Mark and Priya came to save the day, ordering for us the most delicious, filling and not-spicy food ever made. We started by having some Sav Puri, which tasted something like ripe plantains (the food of my people!) and we followed that with Palak Paneer. (YUM!)

For my first 48 hours in Mumbai, the food here has been DE LI CIOUS, I’m happy to inform. Little by little, we have been adapting to other cultural changes as well in this side of the globe. Amongst us, we are hearing less and less complaints about the heat, and we’ve started to learn how to cross the busy streets without getting trampled by traffic. Today, we started our day with yoga, which made me feel so relaxed and calm that I could even describe myself as feeling like water. This reminded me of the very famous Bruce Lee quote:

“Don’t get set into one form, adapt it and build your own, and let it grow, be like water. Empty your mind, be formless, shapeless — like water. Now you put water in a cup, it becomes the cup; You put water into a bottle it becomes the bottle; You put it in a teapot it becomes the teapot. Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend”

Now, it is not my intention to shift countries or talk about martial arts, but when going on a trip like this, I feel like our mantra should be: Adjust and adapt; be like water. Our Western ideologies sometimes trap us into one mindset — one particular discourse or narrative. We, as film makers and storytellers, must be willing to explore the different stories that can be told, and the different view points that each culture provides. This is what I think this trip will provide for many of us.

-Vero

Leave a Reply

